Bedford Public Library

Bedford, New Hampshire

Read Alike Bookmarks at Bedford Library (For the books you like, love and want more of!)

Mon, 08/01/2016 - 8:23pm -- Emily

Recently, you may have seen one of our new read-alike bookmarks, offering recommendations for your next great read, tucked inside of a book.  These bookmarks are designed to suggest books that you may enjoy because of similar themes, writing styles, characters, settings and more.  They now cover more than 60 of our most popular titles, from All the Light We Cannot See to The Nightingale to Sue Grafton’s X.   If you haven’t come across a bookmark for your favorite book yet, you can check out the virtual versions with the links below or stop by the Reference Desk to pick up a bookmark in person.

But what if you don’t see your favorite book on our list?  Bedford Public Library has a great online tool, called NoveList Plus, that can help you find books perfect for your personal reading list.  You can access NoveList Plus through Bedford’s e-library databases or by clicking this link.  Once there, search for the title of your favorite book to bring up a list of recommended titles, similar authors and books characteristics (called “appeals”) to help you search.  Or you can browse directly for new books by appeals like genre, character type, tone or pace.

As always, please feel free to stop by the Reference Desk as well.  We love recommending books, talking about books and… well… we just love books and are always happy to help you find a new favorite or to troubleshoot NoveList with you. 

Have a favorite book you’d love to see recommendations for?  Have a recommendation to share? Let us know by emailing reference@bedfordnh.org.

 

Click on the book titles below to bring up a list of recommendations.

11/22/63 by Stephen King

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

American Housewife by Helen Ellis

Ashley Bell by Dean Koontz

Before the Fall by Noah Hawley

Belgravia by Julian Fellowes

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

Boston Girl by Anita Diamant

The Boys in the Boat by Daniel Brown

Brooklyn by Colm Toibin

The Crossing by Michael Connelly

Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld

The Expanse (Series) by James S. A. Corey

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff

Find Her by Lisa Gardner

The Fireman by Joe Hill

Fool Me Once by Harlan Coben

Game of Thrones (Series: A Song of Ice and Fire) by George R. R. Marti

The Girl in the Spider’s Web by David Lagercrantz

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

The Girls by Emma Cline

The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

The Guest Room by Chris Bohjalian

The Guilty by David Baldacci

Half a King (Series) by Joe Abercrombie

Inside the O’Briens by Lisa Genova

The Last Mile by David Baldacci

The Liar by Nora Roberts

Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly

The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George

The Lord of the Rings (Series) by J. R. R. Tolkien

Make Me by Lee Child

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick

The Martian by Andy Weir

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante

My Name is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout

The Nest by Cynthina D’Aprix Sweeney

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

NYPD Red 4 by James Patterson

The Obsession by Nora Roberts

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Private Paris by James Patterson

The Rainbow Comes and Goes by Anderson Cooper and Gloria Vanderbilt

The Road to Little Dribbling by Bill Bryson

Rogue Lawyer by John Grisham

Room by Emma Donoghue

Secret Sisters by Jayne Ann Krentz

See Me by Nicholas Sparks

A Song of Ice and Fire (AKA Game of Thrones) by George R. R. Martin

A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler

The Summer Before the War by Helen Simonson

The Swans of Fifth Avenue by Melanie Benjamin

The Things We Keep by Sally Hepworth

Uprooted by Naomi Novik

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

The Widow by Fiona Barton

Winter Stroll by Elin Hilderbrand

The Witches: Salem, 1692 by Stacy Schiff

X by Sue Grafton


Submitted 8/3/16 by Patricia

Blog Category: