History and Current Events
Watch a short video about how to access the databases. Thank you to BCTV for producing this video.
Search full-text articles from popular magazines such as Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, Mother Earth News, The Atlantic, Harvard Health and more!
Contains articles, images, and other resources covering over 500 years of American history.
Provides thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s, with special Topic Centers on key civilizations and regions, including the ancient Near East, Egypt, Greece, and Rome; ancient and medieval Africa, Asia, and the Americas; and medieval Europe and the Islamic World. Includes primary sources, maps, timelines, videos, and slideshows.
Great Courses has moved to the Libby app and Libbyapp.com. If you are using a tablet or smartphone, download the Libby app, then login with your library card and look for Great Courses in the Extras section of the NH State Library collection. If you are unfamiliar with Libby, you can find instructions for downloading the app and setting up your account here. The app is free to download, but you will need your Bedford Public Library card number to sign in. If you are using a computer's web browser, you may use libbyapp.com to access Great Courses (You must login with your Bedford Public Library card to see the Extras). Binge on knowledge! Checkout a 7 day pass for unlimited access to video based immersive classes on a variety of topics taught by the world's most engaging professors. When your access expires, you can always checkout another 7 day pass.
Provides comprehensive coverage of world history from the 15th century to today. Topic Centers focus on each region of the world and important time periods, such as A Half Century of Crisis: 1900-1945. Resources include primary sources, book chapters, overview essays, biographies, and videos.
**Access to this resource will end on June 30, 2021. Funding for these resources was provided by the New Hampshire State Library; they chose not to renew the EBSCO databases this year. We are currently evaluating possible replacements. Please click here if you would like to share your comments or concerns.** Explore social, political, and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics.
Browse daily issues of the Union Leader