Databases A-Z & Articles

Search full-text articles from popular magazines such as  Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, Mother Earth News, The Atlantic, Harvard Health and more!  Now includes international publications too.

An authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material covering all major scientific disciplines, as well as links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations.  Click the Access Science link above, then to login, click My account on the far right-hand side of the top navigation bar, then click on the Log in via a library card section.  Enter Bedford Public Library and your barcode and Log in.

Contains articles, images, and other resources covering over 500 years of American history.

Access Census records, immigration lists, vital statistics and military records.  This resource may be accessed in the Library only.  Remote access ended on 12/31/21.  Try Heritage Quest to search genealogy records from home.

Provides thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s, with special Topic Centers on key civilizations and regions, including the ancient Near East, Egypt, Greece, and Rome; ancient and medieval Africa, Asia, and the Americas; and medieval Europe and the Islamic World.  Includes primary sources, maps, timelines, videos, and slideshows.

Read the full text of the Bedford Bulletin from 2009 to the present

Full text of the Bedford Journal from September 1999 to June 2005.  This is an ongoing digitization project and newer issues will be added in the future.  Remote access is limited to Bedford Public Library cardholders.  Please contact the Reference Desk to obtain the user name and password.

Full text of the Bedford-Merrimack Bulletin.  Remote access is limited to Bedford Public Library cardholders.  Please contact the Reference Desk to obtain the user name and password. 

The digitization of the 1970-1976 newspaper editions was funded by a SHARP grant from New Hampshire Humanities, in partnership with the National Endowment for the Humanities, through the American Rescue Plan.

Contains essays and scholarly criticism examining great authors—from William Shakespeare to J. K. Rowling—and their works, 800 full-length videos of great literary works, a Literary Classics eBook shelf of more than 1,000 classic works of literature, and guidance on how to write good essays on literature.

Thousands of trusted reviews of appliances, cars, tech, and much more.  The new consumerreports.org interface is easier to search than ever before.  At the login screen, enter your library card number (without spaces) in the Patron ID box.

Nurture your creative side with 1000+ video classes in painting, knitting, crafting, sewing, and more!  The first time you log in, you will be prompted to create an account so that you can track your progress and create watchlists.

Creativebug also has projects for kids ages 5 and older!

View Tutorial

Search EBSCO Essentials to find open access scholarly works, including some peer reviewed works.  If you are unable to access a particular article, please contact the Reference Desk to inquire about interlibrary loan.

The Great Courses are now available via Kanopy.  Click the above link to get started.

A comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources, including census records and historical and genealogical publications, such as The History of Bedford, New Hampshire.

Kanopy is a streaming service that provides access to quality, thoughtful entertainment through their diverse collection of over 30,000 films.  Login with your library card and set up a Kanopy account to access this service.

MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.

You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.

Provides comprehensive coverage of world history from the 15th century to today.  Topic Centers focus on each region of the world and important time periods, such as A Half Century of Crisis: 1900-1945.  Resources include primary sources, book chapters, overview essays, biographies, and videos.

A comprehensive source of information about books and audiobooks that includes expert recommendations, reviews, articles, lists, book discussion guides, and more.

A database about books specifically for younger readers.  It helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests.

Formerly known as Reference USA, Data Axle Reference Solutions is the go-to resource for comprehensive data on both businesses and individuals, tailored to the needs of small business owners, marketing professionals, entrepreneurs, researchers, and job seekers. It empowers users to create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, secure funding, and locate individuals. This platform offers detailed profiles of over 50 million U.S. businesses, 150 million U.S. residents, 7+ million job postings, internships, historical business data, and healthcare listings, making it an invaluable research tool for job seekers, businesses, and researchers. Click here for training guides to get the most out of Reference Solutions. 

To access this resource, click the usage agreement, then enter your library card barcode number (without the spaces).
**Please note: If unable to access Reference Solutions remotely, please try using a different internet browser.**

The records of the Bedford Cemeteries may be searched by a number of different parameters. You may search for information on an individual basis using Last Name, Maiden Name, Date of Birth, Date of Death, Father's Name, Mother's Name and Mother's Maiden Name. Information about each cemetery is accessed by choosing the cemetery from the menu.

Unlimited access to more than 100 online language courses, packed with pronunciation, speech, grammar, writing and vocabulary-building lessons.   Includes multiple ESL options.  You have the ability to write or speak your answers, practice pronunciation by slowing down the on-screen examples, and converse with native speakers though interactive videos. Learn on your own time, at your own pace in the library, at home, or on the go with the Transparent Language Online app.

Learn something new with Udemy's engaging online learning classes led by expert instructors.  Topics range from guides to using computer programs such as Excel to in depth guides to computer programming, to personal development topics such as iPhone photography.  Create an account to track your progress and receive personalized course recommendations.

Read daily issues of the Union Leader.  Includes the image edition.

An excellent source of investment information.  Now with home and in-library access!